Emily Rose Posts

. . . on food and life

no reason to whine January 16, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — emilyroseposts @ 12:07 pm

malbec

 

On any given Friday there’s cause to celebrate but on this particular day, I’m even more excited.  It’s the end of a long workweek, the beginning of a long weekend and tomorrow, I move into my brand spankin’ new apartment in easy, breezy, beautiful Santa Monica. 

 

It doesn’t take much to get me excited these days because (brace yourself Northeasterners) I’m living in a climatic paradise and the transition from New York has essentially been seamless. 

 

Parking and traffic haven’t been too much of a beast, everyone seems to be pretty chill and really, how can you ever be in a bad mood when it’s 80 freakin’ degrees in January?  Above all, last night I came home to find not six, but EIGHT 100 calorie mini cakes in the Hostess 6-pack box I bought and I was so happy I almost passed out. 

 

Given my excitement, I thought I’d share with you one of my favorite wines so tonight we can celebrate together, across the country.  I, here in sunny Southern California and you, well, most likely somewhere buried in snow.  Sorry.  Move here.  I’m not sure what else to tell you.

 

Malbec, the best of the best, is a red wine originally produced in the South of France and actually translates to “bad grape” since the climate is all wrong and it never came out right.  But in Argentina, the weather and land conditions are perfect for these little purple nuggets so their productions, specifically from Mendoza, are unbelievable. 

 

The flavors of malbec are intense but they leave a surprisingly smooth finish.  I wish I could come up with something clever to describe it like a sommelier would (i.e., “rustic vintage Chevy” or “perky but not too aggressive”), but I’m a fairly simple girl and I just like the taste. 

 

I visited the wineries in Mendoza during a trip to Argentina about a year ago and ended up shipping back cases of malbec.  Here in the States, it’s fairly easy to find at least a bottle or two in your local wine store and it’s hard to go wrong with whichever producer you choose as long as it’s South American.  Try these (while thinking of me, of course) and thank me later.  With a bottle of malbec.

 

Luca Malbec 2006

 

Catena 2006 Mendoza Malbec

 

Familia Zuccardi Q Malbec 2005

 

3 Responses to “no reason to whine”

  1. […] no reason to whine « Emily Rose Posts Malbec, the best of the best, is a red wine originally produced in the South of France and actually translates to “bad grape” since the climate is all wrong and it never came out right. But in Argentina, the weather and land conditions … Emily Rose Posts – https://emilyroseposts.wordpress.com/ […]

  2. […] home while I wait for the cable guy to come and do his thing.  I’m hoping that if I offer him a 100 calorie pack or a can of Coke Zero – the only two things in my cabinet – he’ll hook me up with movie […]

  3. […] no reason to whine « Emily Rose Posts Malbec, the best of the best, is a red wine originally produced in the South of France and actually translates to “bad grape” since the climate is all wrong and it never came out right. But in Argentina, the weather and land conditions … Emily Rose Posts – https://emilyroseposts.wordpress.com/ […]


Leave a comment